It Was Fear All Along

Hi! Well, guess it’s been awhile since my last post here. Hasn’t it? Almost six months! Time sure flies. Seems the older I get, the faster it goes…

Yes, tonight I finally realized why I haven’t hung any of my framed images in my living room. I’ve hung them in other parts of the house, but the walls in that room remained bare and lifeless. I was moving the furniture around making room for the Christmas tree we’ve yet to get and decided to hang a few images since I had the couches away from the walls making it easier to pound in nails. Had the ones chosen and everything… then I went to pound the nail and realized I couldn’t hang this heavy framed photo above the couch. What if it fell on someone or something? My son, a cat, me!? I wasn’t willing to take the chance. These are heavy with very pointed corners. Serious injury could result! Luckily I had two canvas wraps available that go perfectly on those walls. No worries of them falling and hurting someone. They are lightweight so even if they did fall, there’s a slight risk of it hurting someone. I’ve been on a canvas wrap craze lately. Besides being light in weight eliminating the need to locate a stud in the wall, the colors and texture of the material enhance the image immensely. There is no glass to break or get smudged with fingerprints, and no glare! The canvas is stretched over a box frame continuing the image along the sides giving a gallery effect. Widths of .75″, 1.5″ and 2″ are available. I’m partial to the 1.5″ one. Any size is possible from very large to make a bold statement or you could group several smaller ones for a cool wall collage that can be rearranged on a whim because they are so easy to hang and move. Any type image looks fabulous made into a canvas wrap. Anything from pets to people to landscapes to macros of flowers. Anything at all. Here are some examples, but to really appreciate them, you must see them in person. More can be seen on my website Janet Lee Photography I’d love to know what you think. Have you ever worried about framed images falling and hurting someone?

10 thoughts on “It Was Fear All Along

  1. NOPE. If i lived in LA it would be a concern… but earthquakes around here…
    It would be more likely to freeze

    Your story of decorating has inspired me. Perhaps i shall decorate my living room entirely with photographs of myself. I appreciate your advice about canvas wrapping. I shall look into that. I have an aunt who is a photographer, perhaps she can help steer me in the right direction.

    Your post, as always, was insightful and informative. Keep snapping that shutter!!!

  2. My daughter has a poster sized canvas wrap in her living room over the sofa. I have to agree they are SOOO much nicer than a framed photo. I have a feeling that in time people are going to catch on to this and frames will be a thing of the past.

    • I hope you’re right! :- )
      I’d much prefer getting hit in the head by a canvas wrap than a heavy framed print any day. But, since they’re so light, chances of them falling are slim to none anyway!

      • Well you’ve convinced me, Janet. My son wanted photos of the 4 different seasons framed for his wall for Christmas. Instead of getting prints framed for him I just ordered 2 canvas wraps. Yes, only 2 because he only told me recently and I don’t have a winter or spring scene yet that I would want to use! He’ll have to wait on those. I’m so excited about the canvas wraps though! I can’t wait to see my work on one. I figure if he doesn’t like the idea the worst that could happen is that I’d have to keep them! lol

      • don’t you just love those last minute gift ideas from the kids? mine do that, too! :- ) well, i’m confident you and he will be thrilled. just keep the boxes they come in for future moves. keep me posted on what you think. you will be canvas wrap crazy, too! i’ll be expecting photos!

Leave a Reply

